2018/20 SWCC Board Nominations Now Open!

It's time again to elect new members to our board. This year a presidency, a vice-presidency, a treasurer and two board member positions have come open, but most significantly  it is a year with two differences in the election process. The first is that the nominations are sought earlier  because we are having our next annual meeting in April in Vancouver. But the most important change is that for the first time the president's position is open to all  full SWCC members and not just to journalists. This is an expression of the constitutional change approved earlier this year which sought to make SWCC reflect not who and what  it had been in the past, but who and what it was in 2017. With that in mind I strongly encourage every science writer, science communicator, science journalist and others among you to strongly consider running for a presidency which is now truly representative of all our organization's membership.

Let the race begin.

Stephen Strauss, Past President

Chairperson, SWCC nominating committee

All members of SWCC in good standing are eligible to run for the Board of Directors. The SWCC Board of Directors consists of twelve directors who are committed to excellence in science writing and communication. Directors are elected for a two-year term. 

The following positions - President, Vice-President, Treasurer, two Board Member positions are available in this election cycle. The terms will begin at the AGM April 2018 and end at the AGM in 2020.

If you wish to be nominated you will need to get the support of two other members, provide an image and a short paragraph about yourself and why you want to be part of the board, and declare any potential conflicts of interest. The nomination form is available below. You need to send it by February 13 to: election2018@sciencewriters.ca



Nomination Forms for the Board of Directors Must Be Submitted to 


by February 13, 2018

SWCC 2017/2018 Committees

2018 Conference Committee:

Central Committee: Chapin Korosec, Alexandra Kasper, Shelley McIvor, Michelle Riedlinger, Janice Benthin, Tim Lougheed

For SFU: Claire Cupples, Susanne Stockdill, Eileen van der Flier-Keller, Rachel Jones

For STAN: Sandra Corbeil, Pauline Finn

For Science World: Pauline Finn, Elizabeth Hand, Jo-Ann Coggan, Sandra Corbeil

The Team:

                        Terry Lavender

                        Sara Boon

                        Mika McKinnon

                        Kylie Williams

                        Marg Sheridan

                        Eve Rickert

                        Theresa Liao

                        Josh Silberg

                        Anne Steino

                        Megan Helmer

                        Lauren Borja

                        Kristina Campbell

                        Alan Shapiro

                        Eric Jandciu


Awards Committee:

Kate Allen chair, Miriam Shuchman, Andy Visser deVries, Brian Owens, Eva Everything, Ivan Semeniuk, Emily Chung, Genna Buck.


Ethics Committee:

Ivan Semeniuk, chair

ED Job Description Committee:

Tim Lougheed chair, Stephen Strauss, Jennifer Gagne, Andy Visser deVries

Membership Committee:

Jay Whetter, chair

Nomination/Election Committee:

Stephen Strauss, chair, Michelle Riedlinger, Terry Lavender

You can log into the member's area of the website at anywhere on our site by clicking the log in button and using your email and password. Once logged in you can access your member profile in the directory and make changes or updates to your profile. And as a member you can access all of our members only services like the membership directory, and subscribe and/or contribute to services like the job opportunity board and the resources forum. You will also receive the occasional direct emails about upcoming events, SWCC awards, and other interesting information. 

If you are a member and would like to tweet for the SWCC just send an email to twitter@sciencewriters.ca

If you are a member and would like to write guest blogs for the SWCC send an email to bloggerboss@sciencewriters.ca

Here is an link that gives you more information about how to utilize the members online services:


Don't know your password? Don't like your password? You can reset it by clicking the forgot password button when you log in

If you have any problems or questions contact Janice Benthin, office@sciencewriters.ca or 1-800-795-8595

Upcoming events

    • 12 Apr 2018
    • 15 Apr 2018
    • Simon Fraser University Harbour Centre, Vancouver, BC

    On The Edge

    Science Writers and Communicators of Canada 

    Simon Fraser University

    April 12-14, 2018

    Vancouver, British Columbia

    April 15, 2018

    Victoria, British Columbia

    Dip your toe in the ocean. Climb a mountain. Enjoy the leading edge of springtime in Canada. 

    Plus our three areas of focus are all on the edge too! 

    British Columbia. Controversial science topics. The future of science writing and communication.

Past events

22 Sep 2017 Book Award Presentation Event
20 Sep 2017 Youth Book Awards Presentation
13 Sep 2017 SWCC Annual Conference & Meeting Ottawa 2017
03 Apr 2017 CSWA Constitution Vote 2017
28 Nov 2016 CSWA Runoff Name Vote
14 Oct 2016 CSWA Name Vote
02 Jun 2016 CSWA Conference & Annual Meeting: Guelph 2016
20 Feb 2016 Improv for Science Communicators
25 Jan 2016 data journalism/journalisme des données, 2016
11 Jan 2016 Science Journalism Award Submission, 2016
11 Jan 2016 Science Communication Award Submission, 2016
15 Dec 2015 2016 Herb Lampert Emerging Journalist Award Submission
26 Nov 2015 Pub night Ottawa
20 Nov 2015 Pub night: Vancouver
03 Apr 2015 CSWA 2015 Annual Conference, Saskatoon
19 Jan 2015 Science Journalism Award Submission
19 Jan 2015 Herb Lampert Emerging Journalist Award Submission
19 Jan 2015 Science Communication Award Submission
30 Jul 2014 Science of Beer pub night
26 Jun 2014 CSWA pub night
05 Jun 2014 CSWA 2014 Annual Conference, June 5 - 8
15 Apr 2014 CSWA Board Nominations Open, Deadline April 25
17 Feb 2014 Fast Talker 3 minute thesis competition
01 Feb 2014 Science Journalism Award Submission
01 Feb 2014 Science Communication Award Submission
01 Feb 2014 Herb Lampert Emerging Journalist Award Submission
06 Jun 2013 CSWA 2013 Annual Conference, June 6-9
28 Jan 2013 Understanding Medical Journal Articles & Medical Statistics - Webinar
02 Jun 2012 CSWA 2012 Annual Conference, June 2-5
30 Sep 2011 Coffee with Chris Hadfield
09 Jun 2011 CSWA 2011 Annual Conference, June 9-13