Nominations for the 2017-19 Board of Directors are now open. All members of SWCC in good standing are eligible to run for the Board of Directors. Under the new constitution a majority of board seats are no longer specifically reserved for journalists and there is no longer is a vice presidential position specifically reserved for a science communicator. This significantly expands the number SWCC members who can run for a board position. The SWCC Board of Directors now consists of twelve directors who are committed to excellence in science writing and communication. Directors are elected for a two-year term. The executive positions on the board are; President, Vice-President and Treasurer. These positions are currently filled by sitting members of the board and are not available this election cycle.

Seven board member positions are available in this election cycle. The terms will begin Sept 2017 and end at the AGM in 2019.

If you wish to be nominated you will need to get the support of two other members, provide an image and a short paragraph about yourself and why you want to be part of the board, and declare any potential conflicts of interest. The nomination form is available below. You need to send it by July 15, 2017 to:

Stephen Strauss, Past-President



Nomination Forms for the Board of Directors Must Be Submitted to 

by July 15, 2017