• Home
  • Book Awards Now Open! Deadline Dec 9, 2016

Book Awards Now Open! Deadline Dec 9, 2016

21 Oct 2016 10:36 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Awards For Books Published in 2016


The Canadian Science Writers’ Association offers two annual book awards to honour outstanding contributions to science writing 1) intended for and available to children/middle grades ages 8-12 years, and 2) intended for and available to the general public. Competitors must be Canadian citizens or residents of Canada, but need not be members of the CSWA. Entries, in either French or English, must have been published in Canada during the 2016 calendar year. The winners will be announced during Canada Book Week in April 2017 and will receive a prize of $1,000 each.

Judging Criteria

Entries may deal with aspects of basic or applied science or technology, historical or current, in any area including health, social or environmental issues, regulatory trends etc.

Books will be judged on literary excellence and scientific content and accuracy. Specific judging criteria will include initiative, originality, clarity of interpretation and value in promoting greater understanding of science by the general reader.

Books must be understandable to the layperson or children, with appropriate clarification of medical and scientific terminology, and an orderly marshalling of facts.

Also the subject matter should be significant and relevant for the majority of the public or children, and so presented that it increases public awareness.

Rules for Submissions

Include a fully completed entry form with each submission, entry forms  are available on our website in English and French

Submit a brief  biography of the author(s)

 Submit 6 copies for judging purposes

Entry must have been published in Canada during the 2016 calendar year and must be received at the CSWA National Office by Dec 9, 2016

Entries failing to comply with these rules will be rejected. For more information please phone the CSWA office at 1-800-796-8595, or email office@sciencewriters.ca

All entries become the property of the CSWA

Winners of the 2014 & 2015 Book Awards:

2015 Science in Society General Book Award:

Is Gwyneth Paltrow Wrong About Everything? by Timothy Caulfield, Penguin Random House Canada.

2014 Science in Society General Book Award:

Bee Time: Lessons from the Hive by Mark L. Winston, Harvard University Press.

2015 Science in Society Children/ Middle Grades Book Award:

The Queen’s Shadow: A Story About How Animals See by Cybèle Young, Kids Can Press.

2014 Science in Society Children’s Book Award:

The Fly by Elise Gravel, Penguin Random House.