The Canadian Science Writers’ Association and EurekAlert!, the global-science news service for journalists, are pleased to announce the recipients of travel awards to attend the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting (, 16-20 February in Vancouver, B.C., Canada.


EurekAlert!, the online science news service sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), is providing travel awards of up to $1,000, to 17 science journalists and 3 journalism students, each from Canada. The travel awards will help cover the cost of attending the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting. The awards are intended to help support excellence in science communication worldwide by providing science reporters with the opportunity to cover the latest research, and to network with peers from around the world.


The Canadian Science Writers’ Association (CSWA) reviewed the nominations for the awards before passing finalist recommendations along to EurekAlert!.

“It’s a rare treat to have the AAAS meeting come to our neck of the woods. As a full-time freelancer, I’m hoping to make the most of my time in Vancouver by developing renewable energy and innovation stories out of some of the conference sessions. I’m also hoping to make new connections that can help me pull-off longer-term projects I’m working on in a variety of mediums,” shared Peter McMahon, freelance journalist and president of the Canadian Science Journalist Association.

The reporter recipients of the 2012 travel awards are:

Bihn An Vu Van, Freelance Journalist

Valerie Borde, Freelance Journalist

Jennifer Carpenter, Freelance Journalist

Clemence Cireau, Freelance Journalist

Marine Corniou, Journalist, Quebec Science magazine

Arielle Duhaime-Ross, Journalist, The Ontarion

Lucianna Gravotta, Freelance Journalist

Hannah Hoag, Freelance Journalist

Elizabeth Howell, Senior Reporter, Ottawa Business Journal

Romilla Karnick, Associate Producer, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

Stephen Leahy, Senior Environment and Science Correspondent, Inter Press Service

Tim Lougheed, Freelance Journalist

Samia Madwar, New Media Editor, Canadian Geographic magazine

Peter McMahon, Freelance Journalist

Sharon Oosthoek, Freelance Journalist

Niki Wilson, Freelance Journalist

Pippa Wysong, Freelance Journalist

The student recipients of the 2012 travel awards are:

Adrianna Banaszek, Bachelor’s of Journalism, Carleton University

Laura Kluz, Bachelor’s of Journalism, Carleton University

Matthew Kupfer, Master’s of Journalism, Carleton University

“I write about the environment and was drawn to the AAAS meeting this year because it deals with climate from various perspectives…Speakers represent institutions doing some of the most important work in this field, giving me confidence that I will come away from the meeting a better informed journalist,” commented Sharon Oosthoek.

The theme of the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting is Flattening the World: Building the Global Knowledge Society. In keeping with this theme, and the mission of both AAAS and EurekAlert!, the reporter fellowship seeks to promote international scientific dialogue and advance the communication of science news to the global public.

“I am very excited to have the opportunity to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver this year,” Laura Kluz added, “As a journalism student, attending this meeting will not only enhance my skills as a journalist, but it will also be a great opportunity to learn. I am looking forward to interacting with members of the scientific community.”


About EurekAlert!

Founded by AAAS in 1996, EurekAlert! is an editorially independent, online news service focused on science, medicine and technology. Thousands of reporters around the globe use EurekAlert! to access news and resources from the world’s top research organizations. For free access to EurekAlert!, visit

About AAAS

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science ( as well as Science Translational Medicine ( and Science Signaling ( AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS ( is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy; international programs; science education; and more.

About CSWA

The CSWA is a national non-profit alliance of professional science communicators in all media. Its mission is to increase public awareness of science and technology in Canadian culture and to cultivate excellence in Canadian science writing and journalism.

For additional information about the EurekAlert! travel awards, contact Janice Benthin ( or Jennifer Santisi (



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Set your Twitter account name in your settings to use the TwitterBar Section.